2017 Award Winners


Agent of the Year

Danny Cook - Cook Insurance Services
Danny Cook, Owner of Cook Insurance Services in Lumberton, NC was named the 2017 Agent of the Year for his outstanding service to IIANC. Danny is an instructor for IIANC, where he currently serves on the Board of Directors. He has been a member of the Lumberton Rescue Service for nearly 20 years, and was instrumental in the town's rescue efforts after Hurricane Matthew, where he worked day and night seeking showering facilities to be delivered to shelters so evacuees would have access to clean, warm showers.


IIANC Education Foundation Scholarship

VFIS of North Carolina
The 2017 IIANC Education Foundation Scholarship was presented to VFIS of North Carolina in Raleigh, NC. This $5,000 scholarship is used for the staff’s continuing education. Sherry Marshall accepted the award on the agency’s behalf.


Broker of the Year

Burns and Wilcox
2017 Broker of the Year honors went to Burns and Wilcox. This award is presented to the broker that has demonstrated support for association activities and commitment to the independent agency system. 


Company of the Year

Erie Insurance
Erie Insurance received the 2017 Company of the Year award, which is presented to the company that has demonstrated support for association activities and commitment to the independent agency system. Erie Insurance is an industry leader, priding itself on its dedication to local communities. They are a strong advocate for IIANC and are heavily involved in recruiting new members and spreading the world of all that IIANC has to offer to independent agents.


Young Agent of the Year

Patrick Laney - Catawba Insurance Agency
Patrick Laney of Catawba Insurance Agency in Catawba, NC, was named IIANC’s 2017 Young Agent of the Year. Patrick has been in the insurance industry for 15 years, serving on both the Trusted Choice Big "I" Junior Classic Golf Committee and the Young Agents Committee for many years. In 2016 he served as the Co-Chairman of the Young Agents Charity Golf Tournament that raised more than $41,000 for Make-A-Wish.


Company Professional of the Year

Dee Yates - Imperial PFS
The 2017 Company Professional of the Year award was given to Dee Yates of Imperial PFS for the outstanding support he and his company have shown to IIANC throughout the years. 



Lifetime Achievement Award

John Bode
The Lifetime Achievement Award, only given to 13 others throughout the entire history of the association, was presented to John Bode. John has spent 40 years representing IIANC before the General Assembly, helping guide the association's legislative effots, including major reforms to the Beach & FAIR Plans.