2016 Award Winners


Agent of the Year

Ralph Whitehurst - Whitehurst Strategic Partners
Ralph Whitehurst, Owner and President of Whitehurst Strategic Partners in Wake Forest, NC was named the 2016 Agent of the Year for his outstanding service to IIANC. Ralph is currently serving is fifth year on the IIANC Board of Directors and has served on the Legislative, Membership, Agency Management, PAC, Finance, and Surplus Funds committees. 


IIANC Education Foundation Scholarship

Catawba Insurance Agency
The 2016 IIANC Education Foundation Scholarship was presented to Catawba Insurance Agency in Catawba, NC. This $5,000 scholarship is used for the staff’s continuing education. Patrick Laney accepted the award on the agency’s behalf.


Broker of the Year

Risk Placement Services
2016 Broker of the Year honors went to Risk Placement Services. This award is presented to the broker that has demonstrated support for association activities and commitment to the independent agency system. 


Company of the Year

Travelers received the 2016 Company of the Year award, which is presented to the company that has demonstrated support for association activities and commitment to the independent agency system. Travelers is an industry leader, committed to keeping the pace with the ever-changing needs of customers, and anticipating their needs for the future. 


Young Agent of the Year

Anna Bailey - Allen Tate Insurance Services
Anna Bailey of Allen Tate Insurance Services in Charlotte, NC, was named IIANC’s 2016 Young Agent of the Year. Anna has been on the Young Agents Committee for six years, in addition to serving on both the Events and PAC committees, too.


Company Professional of the Year

Kris Marrion - Erie Insurance
The 2016 Company Professional of the Year award was given to Kris Marrion of Erie Insurance in Raleigh, NC for the outstanding support he and his company have shown to IIANC throughout the years. 


Lifetime Achievement Award

Stuart Powell
The Lifetime Achievement Award, only given to 12 others throughout the entire history of the association, was presented to Stuart Powell. Stuart has been involved in the insurance business for more than 40 years, most recently leaving his tenured position at IIANC to become an Executive-in-Residence at Appalachian State University.


Chairman's Citations


Pictured above:
John Miller (The Adcock Agency - Cary, NC), Jackie Ireland (VFIS of North Carolina - Raleigh, NC), Ray Tedder (BB&T-McPhail Bray Insurance - Charlotte, NC), Josh Lipstone (Lipstone Insurance - Cary, NC)
ECM Solutions (Charlotte, NC)
Justin Litaker (Litaker Insurance - Charlotte, NC)
John Miletti (Travelers - Hartford, CT)
Patrick Laney (Catawba Insurance Agency - Catawba, NC)
Natalie Simpson (IIANC - Cary, NC)