handshake secondary nav


Looking for a way to become engaged in your association, network with fellow agents and give back to your industry? If so, then serving on an IIANC committee is a great place to start! This is a great opportunity to provide input that will help guide the initiatives of IIANC. Working together to combine talents and ideas, we can build a stronger IIANC to benefit members and the independent agency system.  

Our committee sign up period typically opens during the summer for the following membership year (which runs September-August.) Below are the committees which accept volunteers and some FAQ on the committee process.  If you are interested in serving on a committee, email nsimpson@iianc.com as there are sometimes available spots during the year.


Diversity Committee

This committee is charged with providing IIANC direction and suggestions on being a more inclusive organization and increasing minority participation within the association. Current initiatives of the Diversity Committee include the Diversity Scholarship and starting the HBCU Agency Internship Experience in 2021-22.

Chairman:  Deirdre Rushin - Imperial Insurance & Financial Solutions, Durham, NC
Staff Liaison:
 Aubie Knight - IIANC CEO
Meeting Format/Frequency: Majority (if not all) meetings will be held virtually

Government Affairs Committee

Assists in the development of IIANC's legislative program and recommends it for approval to the Board of Directors in a complete and timely manner. Committee members are active in lobbying efforts including the IIABA National Legislative Conference and in the NC General Assembly as well as fundraising efforts for the association's PACs.

Chairman: Anna Bailey, CIC, CISR - Allen Tate Insurance Services, Inc., Charlotte, NC
Staff Liaison:
 Joe Stewart - IIANC Vice President of Governmental Affairs
Meeting Format/Frequency: Majority (if not all) meetings will be held virtually

iLEAD (Young Agents) Committee

Actively recruits the involvement of iLEAD members (Young Agents) in the affairs of the Association and works to develop leadership and networking in the iLEAD community. This is an active, hands-on committee that helps plan, facilitate and recruit involvement for various iLEAD events and programs including the Young Agents Development Conference, IIANC Charity Golf Tournament, philanthropic activities, local networking events, etc.  This iLEAD Committee is open to member agents and PARTNER company reps age 41 and under or with less than five years industry experience. 

Chairman: Landon Bentham, MBA, TRA - Callahan & Rice, Fayetteville, NC
Vice Chairman: Owen Thomas, MBA - Dial Insurance, Pembroke, NC
Immediate Past Chairman: Thomas Rhodes, CPCU, CIC, AAI, AIC - John Hackney Agency, Inc., Rocky Mount, NC
Staff Liaison: Natalie Simpson - IIANC Vice President of Digital Solutions
Meeting Format/Frequency: Quarterly in-person meetings at IIANC office (virtual option is offered as well)

Technology Committee

Monitor industry developments and recommend new products and procedures to help agency members improve operating efficiency and customer service using technology. 

Chairman: George Robertson, CISR - Rockingham Insurance Agency
Staff Liaison:
 Mitchell DeHaven - Director of Technology Solutions
Meeting Format/Frequency: Quarterly; Majority (if not all) meetings will be held virtually

Membership Engagement Committee

Assists the IIANC staff in increasing association engagement among agency members. Committee members are asked to help during the onboarding of new members through a welcome ambassador program and will also help to increase engagement with current members through outreach programs via phone calls, email, events, etc. 

Chairman: Kevin Whitley - Whitley Insurance Services, LLC, Cedar Point, NC
Staff Liaison:
 Jill Lewis - IIANC Membership Coordinator
Meeting Format/Frequency: Majority (if not all) meetings will be held virtually

Technical Committee

Monitor issues relating to insurance technical/coverage matters. Some committee members may be asked to provide representation for IIANC members at public hearings on insurance to advocate the official position taken by the Board of Directors if needed. This committee is asked to keep the membership informed of technical developments in the industry via the development of blog posts, articles or whitepapers, webinars, etc. 

Chairman:  Wortham Boyle, CIC, AAI
Staff Liaison: 
Joe Stewart - IIANC Vice President of Governmental Affairs
Meeting Format/Frequency: Majority (if not all) meetings will be held virtually

Committee Info to Note:
  • The committee service year runs from September - August.
  • Committee service is open to IIANC member agents or IIANC PARTNER company reps only (in good standing).
  • Committee sign up period is held during August. Info on sign ups are emailed to members and posted on IIANC social media channels and website.
  • Anyone currently serving on one of the above committees who would like to be reconsidered for the next year must submit his/her name again. 
  • Meetings are usually held at the IIANC office in Cary and/or via Zoom/conference call. For in-person meetings, there is always the option to attend via phone.
  • Committee members are expected to contribute annually to IIANC PACs to help protect your industry.
  • Some committees may have additional expectations for committee member participation that will be communicated prior to committee appointment.
  • Signing up does not guarantee committee appointment as space on committee may be limited for efficiency and/or budget constraints.

 Please contact the respective staff liaison listed above for questions about a specific committee. Contact Natalie Simpson at nsimpson@iianc.com with general questions on our committee structure or appointment process.